Last modified on November 5, 2013, 2:14 pm

CRTS 2013
Call for papers
Paper submission
Important dates
Keynote speaker
Contact CRTS

Call for Papers

[ Call for Papers as PDF file ]

Background: The increasing complexity of real-time embedded systems requires advanced platforms and methodologies that can reduce the cost of their design and analysis, while ensuring that requirements on functional correctness, real-time behavior, and performance are met. Compositional theories and technologies facilitate the decomposition of a complex system into components, as well as their integration via interfaces. Component interfaces hide the internal details of the components, thereby reducing integration complexity. A system is said to be composable if the properties established and validated for components in isolation hold once the components are integrated to form the system.

Topics include, but are not limited to:

- Composition of single processor, multiprocessor, and distributed systems

- Composition of multi-criticality and multi-mode systems

- Composition of policies, services, and system layers

- Composition of validation and verification techniques

- Component-based design and analysis

- Interface models, interface theories, and integration techniques for real-time components

- Compositional schedulability analysis, execution time analysis, and performance analysis

- Compositional formal methods

- Hardware/software architectures for composable systems

- Trade-offs between optimality, associativity, and complexity in compositional theory

- Practical issues in composition including performance penalties and overheads

- Experimental and implementation frameworks for compositional theory

- Decomposition of requirements for component-based development

- Policing of non-CPU resources (e.g. resources in the memory system)

CRTS invites papers that describe state-of-the-art research, present work-in-progress, or suggest open problems covering one or more of the topics of interest to the workshop. Submissions should not exceed 8 pages in two-column, single-space, 10pt format, see IEEE formatting guidelines.

By submitting a paper, the authors agree and confirm that: neither this paper nor a version close to it is under submission or will be submitted elsewhere before notification by CRTS 2013, and if accepted, at least one author will register for the CRTS 2013 workshop by the special registration deadline set in the notification of acceptance, and present the paper at the workshop in person. Please note that papers that do not fall within the scope of the workshop will not be accepted. Submissions will be refereed for quality and relevance. Submissions exceeding the page limit may be rejected without review.

All accepted papers will appear in a special issue of ACM SIGBED Review. By submitting to the workshop, the authors are granting permission for ACM to publish the paper in print and digital formats for the newsletter and the ACM Digital Library.

Important dates

Deadline for paper submissions has been extended October 11th, 2013
Notification of acceptance October 30th, 2013
Deadline for final manuscript submission November 6th, 2013
CRTS Workshop December 3rd, 2013

Workshop organization

Program Chairs:

Moris Behnam, Mälardalen University, Sweden  

Giorgio Buttazzo, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna of Pisa, Italy  

Organizing Committee::

Insup Lee, University of Pennsylvania, USA  

Thomas Nolte, Mälardalen University, Sweden  

Insik Shin, KAIST, South Korea  

Oleg Sokolsky, University of Pennsylvania, USA  

Technical Program Committee

Benny Akesson, Eindhoven University of Technology, the Netherland 

Luis Almeida, Universidade do Porto, Portugal 

Björn Andersson, Software Engineering Institute, Carnegie Mellon, USA 

Reinder Bril, Eindhoven University of Technology, the Netherlands 

Jian-Jia Chen, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany 

Arvind Easwaran, NTU, Singapore 

Hyun-Wook Jin, Konkuk University, Seoul, Korea 

Julio Medina, Universidas de Cantabria, Spain 

Roman Obermaisser - University of Siegen, Germany 

Linh Thi Phan, University of Pennsylvania, USA 

Luca Santinelli, ONERA, France 

Mikael Sjödin, Mälardalen University, Sweden 

Tullio Vardanega, Università di Padova, Italy 

Web page hosted at School of Innovation, Design and Engineering,
Mälardalen University, Sweden. Webmaster: Hüseyin Aysan